Mozart: Non tardar Amato bene K492/27 for soprano & piano



Mozart: Non tardar Amato bene K492/27 for soprano & piano
Recitative: ‘Giunse il momento al fine’ and Aria: ‘Non tardar amato bene’

Sketch for Susanna’s aria in Act IV of “Die Hochzeit des Figaro” edited by Siegfried Anheisser (1931). Listed in Köchel-Einstein 1961 as “Anhang II, Skizze der ursprünglichen Fassung des Rezitativs und der Arie 27” under K.492 Le Nozze di Figaro.

This is an early sketch for Susanna’s aria in Act IV, which apparently was to precede Figaro’s diatribe against women, ‘Aprite un po’ quegli occhi’. The recitative is much more extensive than the final version when the order of the arias was reversed. Mozart never got further than writing the voice,1st violin and bass parts for the recitative and the voice and bass parts for the half

aria which he then abandoned in favour of the present order of arias. Appropriately for Susanna’a disguise as the Countess, Mozart’s aria is in
the Countess’s key of E flat major. I therefore thought it appropriate to use Mozart’s favourite instrument in the key of E flat, the clarinet, and I have made the orchestral colouring as “Countess-ish” as possible. Mozart never got round to composing music for the allegro section and so I have composed a “playout” of 3 bars in the character of the opening andante. Apart from that, notes in the bass not by Mozart are indicated in brackets. Suggestions for appoggiaturas and a cadenza have been added in appropriate places.
Charles Mackerras.

This version is a piano reduction by Sir Charles Mackerras of his own orchestration.

Vocal score £8


There are no reviews yet.

Only logged in customers who have purchased this product may leave a review.