Beethoven, Ludwig van Horn Quintet after Op. 17




FE 185 Beethoven           Quintet for horn, violin, 2 violas & cello after Op. 17

arranged by Sebastian Comberti after Carl Khym

Carl Khym (1770-1819) the Bohemian oboist and composer spent most of his life in Vienna. On the title-page of his Sextuor op.9 he called himself ‘Employé de sa majesté’. His known works include duets for clarinets (opp.1–2, 1798), flutes (op.6, 1800) and oboes (op.11 no.1, 1819), dances for keyboard and variations for keyboard and for strings. An exact contemporary, he arranged several of Beethoven’s works, including the piano trio Op. 1 no. 2, the clarinet trio Op. 11 and the present work, the horn sonata Op. 17.

The arrangement of Beethoven’s Horn Sonata Op. 17 for string quintet [2 violins, viola, cello and double bass] by Khym was made in 1817. This was with a cello as the principal instrument. Sebastian Comberti has rearranged the work for Horn Quintet retaining the horn part of the sonata. The arrangement has been done principally to be a companion piece to Mozart’s Horn Quintet and is for the same scoring (horn, violin, 2 violas and cello). However in order to have maximum flexibility, this edition also includes an alternative part for a second violin (instead of the viola 1) in case it is to be played by horn and string quartet. There is also a solo cello part, which can replace the horn part and thus brings this arrangement back nearer to Khym’s. In each case the original horn part or the original cello part from the sonata will work with this arrangement.

Score £8

Set of parts Horn [solo cello], Violin, Viola 1 [violin 2], Viola 2, Cello £25


Additional information


Full score, Parts