Handel: Theodora Overture



FE11                                         020[1] strings

(Largo); Allegro; Larghetto e piano; Courante;

Theodora, now regarded as one of Handel’s final great works, was a failure when given at Covent Garden in March 1750, achieving but 3 performances .This was partly as a result of minor earthquakes occurring in London at the time. It was revived in much altered state for a single performance in March 1755. In spite of its poor reception, it remained a favourite of the composer. Theodora’s librettist Thomas Morell once asked of Handel ‘….whether he did not look upon the Grand Chorus in the Messiah (i.e. The Hallelujah chorus) as his Master Piece?  ‘No’ says he, ‘I think the Chorus at the end of the 2nd. Part in Theodora far beyond it.  He saw the lovely youth &c.’

The overture is heavily indebted to Gottlieb Muffat’s ‘Componimenti musicale’ the Minuet (also called ‘Trio’ by Muffat!) and the Courante are ‘borrowed’ to a degree excessive even by Handel’s usual methods.

Full score                                             £6

Set of parts: wind and strings (43221)  £18

Extra string parts                                 £4

Handel Overtures Series:

Multi-buy option: any 4 scores for £20; any 4 sets of parts £50

Additional information


Extra basso part, Extra viola part, Extra vln 1 part, Extra vln 2 part, Parts, Score, Score and parts


There are no reviews yet.

Only logged in customers who have purchased this product may leave a review.