Handel: Solomon Overture



FE117                                         020[1] strings

(Largo);   Fuga:Allegro moderato   Allegro

Solomon was premiered at Covent Garden on 17th. March 1749, achieving 3 performances and revived for a further 2 in March 1759. Handel had exceptionally large orchestral forces at his disposal in the 1749 season and consequently the score of Solomon is peppered with ‘con’ and ‘senza ripieni’ markings. In smaller scale performances these markings could well prove redundant. The energetic 3rd. movement of the Overture is to say the very least heavily indebted to Muffat’s  ‘Componimenti Musicale’

The Sinfonia to the 3rd. Act of the present work (popularly known as ‘The Arrival of the Queen of Sheba’) [FE71] can be tagged on to the end of this Overture to make a more substantial extract for concert use, as both pieces happily share the same key. 

Full score                                             £6

Set of parts: wind and strings (43221)  £18

Extra string parts                                 £4

Handel Overtures Series:

Multi-buy option: any 4 scores for £20; any 4 sets of parts £50

Additional information


Extra basso part, Extra viola part, Extra vln 1 part, Extra vln 2 part, Parts, Score, Score and parts


There are no reviews yet.

Only logged in customers who have purchased this product may leave a review.