Reicha: Overture in D (1823)



FE61               2222/2000/ timps strings

Lento e maestoso; Allegro scherzando

This extraordinary work seems to be the first ever orchestral work written in 5/8 time. After a fairly straightforward but harmonically quirky slow introduction the main bulk of the overture is amazing. Not only because of the time signature but it is full of harmonic lurches and strange hiatuses. A full 70 years before Tchaikovsky this is truly revolutionary.

Duration 15 minutes

Full score £14

Set of parts wind and strings (44332) £140

Extra string parts £6

Additional information


Extra cello part, Extra double bass part, Extra vla part, Extra vln 1 part, Extra vln 2 part, Score, Set of parts


There are no reviews yet.

Only logged in customers who have purchased this product may leave a review.