Handel: Athalia Overture



FE110                                                020[1] strings

Allegro; Grave; Allegro

Athalia was first given in Oxford at the Sheldonian Theatre on 10th. July 1733 where ‘…….it was performed with the utmost Applause and is esteemed equal to the most celebrated of that Gentleman’s Performances; there were 3,700 persons present’ (The Bee).

Handel here departs from his usual practice and instead of a ‘French’ Ouverture provides an Italian Style  fast-slow-fast Sinfonia. Notable also are the parts for 4 Violins.

The first and final movements appear later in the 4th. of the Opus 5 Trio Sonatas, which were published by Walsh (and possibly 


Full score                                             £6

Set of parts: wind and strings (43221)  £18

Extra string parts                                 £4

Handel Overtures Series:

Multi-buy option: any 4 scores for £20; any 4 sets of parts £50

Additional information


Extra basso part, Extra viola part, Extra vln 1 part, Extra vln 2 part, Parts, Score, Score and parts


There are no reviews yet.

Only logged in customers who have purchased this product may leave a review.