Bach, Johann Sebastian Violin Concerto in D BWV 1053r



FE 192          Johann Sebastian Bach Violin Concerto in D major  BWV 1053r

                        arranged by Kati Debretzeni

Allegro.     Siciliano      Allegro

This is an arrangement of the Harpsichord Concerto BWV 1053, which is itself an arrangement! Bach used the first and second movements of his cantata Gott soll allein mein Herze haben, BWV 169: the opening Sinfonia and alto aria “Stirb in mir, Welt”, and the opening Sinfonia of the cantata Ich geh und suche mit Verlangen, BWV 49in the Harpsichord Concerto BWV 1053.

The result is a dazzling and completely convincing new Bach violin concerto! Bach’s own harpsichord arrangements of his violin concertos are usually a tone lower than the original. However that process would put this concerto in F sharp major! There is a modern arrangement in F major for oboe. But the fact that the cantata BWV 169 is in D major and was transposed by Bach into E for his harpsichord concerto means that reverting to D for the violin concerto feels absolutely right.

Score £15

Parts £60

Extra Parts £6

Additional information


Extra Parts, Parts, Score, Score and parts