Sammartini, Giuseppe: Concerti Grossi Op. 8 nos. 4-6



FE16             solo oboe/ solo vln 1/ solo vln 2/ strings

These concertos are, to all intents and purposes, oboe concertos, the solo violins having very minor roles. Sammartini was Handel’s principal oboe.

6 Grand Concertos Op 8

Concerto no 4 in C major
Andante; Presto; Allegro assai; Andantino

The first movement is galant in style, the second very Handelian, whilst the third is a fully worked out baroque allegro. The final movement again is very Handelian.

Duration 13 minutes

Concerto no 5 in G minor
Andante sostenuto; Allegro assai; Andante sostenuto

This concerto is built up of shortish sections, the opening and closing sections are full of gravitas reminiscent of the soprano aria “Pensieri” with obligato oboe from Handel’s “Agrippina”.

Duration 7 minutes

Concerto no 6 in A major
Allegro; Andante; Tempo di Minuet

This first movement is fully worthy of, and could be mistaken for Handel. A beautiful slow movement follows which is played by the tutti orchestra throughout. A charming Minuet finale rounds off the concerto.

Duration 15 minutes

The set of concertos for solo oboe, 2 solo violins and strings:

Full score £18

Set of solo and string parts (33221) £70

Extra string parts £6

Additional information


Extra basso part, Extra vla part, Extra vln 1 part, Extra vln 2 part, Score, Set of parts


There are no reviews yet.

Only logged in customers who have purchased this product may leave a review.