Pulcinella Originals



FE70 tenor, bass, 4 violins, viola, cello, double bass and harpsichord
PERGOLESI / Wassenaur / Monza / Gallo
compiled by Nicholas Logie

Sonata No. 1 (1st movement)…..Domenico Gallo
Aria (Il Flaminio)…..G. B. Pergolesi
Sonata No. 2 (1st movement)…..Domenico Gallo
Sonata No. 2 (3rd movement)…..Domenico Gallo
Sonata No. 8 (1st movement)…..Domenico Gallo
Concertino No. 2 (4th movement)…..U. von Wassenaer
Air…..Carlo Monza
Gavotte avec Double…..Carlo Monza
Sinfonia (4th movement)…..G. B. Pergolesi
Canzona (Lo frato ’nnamorato)…..G. B. Pergolesi
Sonata No. 7 (3rd movement)…..Domenico Gallo
This edition presents the originals from which Stravinsky composed his Pulcinella Suite. Although there are conflicting accounts from Stravinsky about how he came by the ‘numerous fragments and shreds of compositions’, it would seem that he was presented with a collection of works unearthed by Diaghilev in various music shops. The full title; Pulcinella, ballet avec chant en un acte d’après Giambattiste Pergolesi (1st performance in May 1920), is unambiguous about the source of the musical material. However, since serious Pergolesi studies started in the late 1940’s, we know that of the 330 works previously attributed to Pergolesi, only 33 are genuinely his compositions. Thus it transpires that the Pulcinella Suite comprises material from four different composers.

Full score  £10

Set of parts £30

Additional information


PDF Download, Printed score


Score, Set of parts


There are no reviews yet.

Only logged in customers who have purchased this product may leave a review.