Winter: Concerto in D minor for violin and orchestra



FE82                      Wind (0200 0200), timps, solo violin and strings

Allegro; Romance, Adagio; Allegro

This powerful piece unusually, for a classical violin concerto, in the minor key is full of the juxtaposition of ‘sturm und drang’ elements and ingratiatingly pleasing tunes typical of Winter’s writing for the stage. As one would expect from a composer who had been a professional violinist since the age of 10, it is very idiomatically written for the violin and contains some shapes in the passagework that seem to be unique to Winter. The solo part explores the full range of the violin up to top E together with double stopping and ‘una corda’ writing. Altogether an engaging and challenging piece!

Duration: 25 mins

See also FE46

Full score
Scores are available either comb-bound or stapled. Comb-bound scores are generally favoured for conducting as they lie flat whereas stapled scores are neater for study purposes. Please specify your choice in the space provided on the checkout form. £16

Set of parts wind (0200 0200), timps, solo violin and strings (43221) £60

Extra string part £4

Additional information


Extra basso part, Extra viola part, Extra vln 1 part, Extra vln 2 part, Score, Set of parts


There are no reviews yet.

Only logged in customers who have purchased this product may leave a review.