Haydn, Johann Michael Violin Concerto in G MH52



FE142           Johann Michael Haydn   Violin Concerto in G MH52        (violin & strings)

Allegro moderato;   Adagio amoroso;     Allegro


‘Michael’ Haydn wrote three violin concertos. The A major (MH207) is a big work with oboes and horns in the accompaniment and has a strong resemblance to the violin concertos of Mozart which it is very likely Haydn heard in Salzburg. The present concerto, however, is very much more like the violin concertos of his brother and indeed was even taken to be by Josef acquiring a place in Hoboken’s catalogue of Josef Haydn’s works (Hob. VIIa: G1)

Score £8

Set of parts (4,3,2,2,1) £50

Additional information


Full score, Parts