Handel: Joseph and his Brethren



FE95                                            020[1] strings

Andante; Larghetto; Allegro; Menuet

Joseph and his Brethren was first given at the Covent Garden Theatre on 2nd. March 1744. It ran for 4 performances. The 4 movement ‘Ouverture’ (though distinctly non-French) is a particularly fine piece and deserves more hearing than performances of the Oratorio can possibly allow. In the present editor’s view there is a distinct ‘Chandos’ feel  to the style of the music, both in the nature of the oboe parts doubling the violins which at times give the impression of one being added, and the remarkable similarity of the 2nd. movement to the corresponding one in the Overture to Esther of 1718. Could the present piece possibly be a re-working of earlier material? A particularly stark and bittersweet minuet ends this most attractive work.


Full score                                             £6

Set of parts: wind and strings (43221)  £18

Extra string parts                                 £4

Handel Overtures Series:

Multi-buy option: any 4 scores for £20; any 4 sets of parts £50

Additional information


Extra basso part, Extra viola part, Extra vln 1 part, Extra vln 2 part, Parts, Score, Score and parts


There are no reviews yet.

Only logged in customers who have purchased this product may leave a review.