Arensky: Petite Ballade and Danse Capricieuse, Op. 12 for cello and piano



FE65 cello and piano

Arensky wrote six pieces for cello and piano, made available together here for the first time in a century. All six works are character pieces, as their titles indicate – Petite Ballade and Danse Capricieuse (op. 12), and Orientale, Romance, Chant Triste and Humoresque (op. 56) – yet they are all works of substance, and stand comparison with the works for cello of Balakirev, Rimsky-Korsakov and Glazunov. Arensky’s lyric gifts – reminiscent of Tchaikovsky – are apparent in the slower pieces, and the faster ones require great virtuosity on the part of the performer. Either opus number could be played as a set in recital, or the individual pieces used as encores.

(see also Arensky op.56)

Cello and piano £7.50

Purchase Arensky op.12 and op.56 together £15

Additional information


Op.12, Op.12 & Op. 56 together


There are no reviews yet.

Only logged in customers who have purchased this product may leave a review.